A very simple easy to make Frequency counter project. This project is powered with small AT89C2051 microcontroller with LCD. Block Diagram of circuit is shown below. It can support a wide range of frequency input starting from 1Hz to ~16.5Mhz, rest depends on pin characteristics.

Theory of Operation
As we all know frequency of a signal is number of cycles per second. I made use of this logic to calculate frequency of the input signal.

8051 has two timers, Timer 0 is configured for 1 second delay to sample the input signal and Timer 1 is used as a counter to calculate number of cycles in that 1 second. If timer1 overflows then the overflow is counter in another register which is considered as the high byte of Frequency. Input signal is provided at P3.5/T1 which is input for Timer 1 in counter mode. LCD is connected to microcontroller port 1 in 4-bit mode. Currently program is using 2 Line LCD but it can be used for 1 line LCD too.

Program initializes the Timer0 in 16-bit mode with 50mS delay value, a tick value of 20 is loaded to have total delay of 1s (50 x 20 = 1000 mS). Timer 1 is configured in 16-bit counter mode. After a sample of 1 sec, we get the number of cycles hence the frequency of input signal from timer1 registers (TH1:TL1) and high byte of Frequency. So total 3 byte value is then converted to a decimal equivalent represented in hex. This decimal value is then updated to LCD. The whole process repeats again.



For any doubts and suggestions please use forum

Download: Frequency Counter using AT89C2051 and LCD (Assembly)
Tags Frequency Counter using AT89C2051 and LCD8051 projectsFrequency counter project
printer friendly create pdf of this news item

Submit comment

(Required; Min length 5)
(Required; will not be displayed)

Conversation

Tue Nov 29 2016, 02:49 PM
jaykumar
Dear sir, elevator microprocessor control , the vendor locked the control, pls help me how can we decode the password
Sat Nov 26 2016, 10:24 AM
manikanta B
hello i know about gsm,gps and zigbee but i dont know how to use them while programming. can anyone suggest me how to use them
ExperimenterUK
Sat Nov 19 2016, 07:09 PM
@Protaz.. Really you would be better off asking on one of the many Arduino user sites
Fri Nov 18 2016, 05:39 AM
Protaz
Hi, am new in programing, but I have few skills in electronic. I want to make an automatic timing system for institutions using arduino uno. Any one to assist me how to program the microcontoller?
Tue Nov 15 2016, 04:45 AM
Hemangi patel
hello, i am working on atmega128 board and i want to interface with sd card with using fat32 file system. i am totaly new in this field .so pls anyone can u suggest me some imp links.thanks
Thu Nov 10 2016, 01:40 PM
ajith raj
hi frds i make voice control robot using blutooth module
Wed Oct 26 2016, 08:23 AM
ishalt
is it possible to completly get the robot running from java code
Sun Oct 23 2016, 05:50 PM
mamata thakur
plz send full mini project report for ic 741&ic 555 tester
Wed Oct 19 2016, 03:30 PM
riddhi1296
can you provide an explanation for the inverter 8051 code and how it works
ExperimenterUK
Sat Oct 15 2016, 12:15 AM
@snaya. Create a thread in the 8051 forum for your questions

Downloads

Comments

Jonathan.kei
Mon Nov 21 2016, 04:30 PM
AVRuser1
Sun Nov 20 2016, 06:07 PM
JaguarPaw
Thu Nov 17 2016, 07:44 PM
PeterJohn
Mon Nov 14 2016, 05:54 PM
evigna
Wed Nov 02 2016, 02:03 PM
ozancakiroglu
Thu Oct 27 2016, 01:54 PM
[email protected]
Fri Oct 21 2016, 10:35 PM
Beliwars
Sat Oct 15 2016, 09:40 AM

Online

Guests: 39, Members: 0 ...

most ever online: 182184
(Members: , Guests: 182184) on 06 Aug 2010: 05:37 AM

Members: 37792
Newest member: Jonathan.kei
Forum Activity
Centurio Avatar
Posted By Centurio
Mon Nov 28 2016, 08:46 AM
Hi there,long time ago... i've a short question to...
kirangowle Avatar
Posted By kirangowle
Wed Nov 16 2016, 03:56 PM
Hello Forum members,After a long time i am back to...
Pratik_Suthar Avatar
Posted By Pratik_Suthar
Thu Oct 13 2016, 12:39 PM
@martin the HEX file provided in the project is no...
ajay_bhargav Avatar
Posted By ajay_bhargav
Thu Oct 06 2016, 06:15 AM
Hi Phil, Do you want to add this to existing proje...
ajay_bhargav Avatar
Posted By ajay_bhargav
Thu Oct 06 2016, 06:13 AM
CE should be high when you go for reading mode/wai...
ajay_bhargav Avatar
Posted By ajay_bhargav
Thu Oct 06 2016, 06:03 AM
You can also use ESP8266 with its SDK to write app...
ExperimenterUK Avatar
Posted By ExperimenterUK
Mon Oct 03 2016, 11:15 PM
This is an old thread and the links no longer work...
martinsnc115877 Avatar
Posted By martinsnc115877
Wed Sep 14 2016, 12:51 PM
sir, i did your led scrolling mass display, and it...
ExperimenterUK Avatar
Posted By ExperimenterUK
Fri Sep 09 2016, 11:45 PM
The Hex file for this project is a bit too big for...