Discussion in "Component Price and Availability" started by    thulsi1991    Oct 5, 2011.
Wed Oct 05 2011, 09:40 pm
#1
I am working on an 8051 microcontroller project and need to use RS232 cable and 9-pin connector for serial communication. Can anyone inform me where I can get a serial card for installing in my PC (for serial communication)?
Thu Oct 06 2011, 02:05 pm
#2
There is nothing called serial card. It is called RS232 to USB Converter or vice versa. If you have RS232 port in your PC, no need of converter. If it is a latest laptop or desktop without RS232 port, you can go for the converter. It is available in all the computer shops.
Thu Oct 06 2011, 08:19 pm
#3
@ thulsi1991
UART is inside the pc if it has serial port if it has usb ports then use usb to serial converter as Amit give you idea
Mon Nov 28 2011, 10:32 pm
#4


There is nothing called serial card. It is called RS232 to USB Converter or vice versa. If you have RS232 port in your PC, no need of converter. If it is a latest laptop or desktop without RS232 port, you can go for the converter. It is available in all the computer shops.

Amit Kumar Das



http://www.onlinetps.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=101&products_id=779
Tue Nov 29 2011, 01:30 am
#5
Actually serial cards are available for PCs.
They plug into the slots found in most desktops.
They were common at one time, but not so much now.
Tue Nov 29 2011, 06:47 pm
#6
@ExperimenterUK
Yes, serial cards are available for PCs, but I installed one on my PC with some difficulty
Thanks!

Get Social

Information

Powered by e107 Forum System

Downloads

Comments

lnCar
Thu Dec 08 2022, 12:03 am
JordanPruff
Wed Dec 07 2022, 06:13 pm
Tomnuabs
Wed Dec 07 2022, 07:51 am
Charleshek
Tue Dec 06 2022, 09:28 pm
TicePex
Sun Dec 04 2022, 02:02 pm
QuaderiPex
Sat Dec 03 2022, 05:18 pm
Singexy
Fri Dec 02 2022, 12:46 am
HoraceIdior
Thu Dec 01 2022, 05:17 am