Discussion in "Project Help" started by    eddieprice    Jan 12, 2018.
Fri Jan 12 2018, 04:32 PM
#1
I am using a 16F84A for the first time and am having trouble with the oscillator. I am using a 4 MHz xtal with 22pf capacitors as shown in the PIC16F84A datasheet. I have used MPLAB IDE V8.91 to write the program. The simulation works fine, but the circuit doesn't. I have a small didgital oscilloscope and I would assume that I should be able to observe a square wave across the xtal - but there is nothing. This is my configuration code:-
__CONFIG _CP_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON & _XT_OSC
Any suggestions would be much apprciated.
Fri Jan 12 2018, 06:49 PM
#2
Sometimes the Configuration word has to be programmed separately.
Check your programming software to make sure the
Configuration word is being set correctly.

Check the reset pin is high after a short delay.
Check all your connections again.. and carefully.

Write a simple flashing LED program, does it work using
the R/C oscillator ?

FYI.. the 16F84A is now very old, and expensive, due to rarity value.
It is messy to program in assembly and has too little memory
to do much in C.
Consider moving to a newer device.



[ Edited Sat Jan 13 2018, 02:56 AM ]

Get Social

Information

Powered by e107 Forum System

Conversation

Wed Sep 30 2020, 08:08 PM
Bryantss
only
Thu Jun 11 2020, 06:27 AM
anudee
sir could please send the code for I2C and wifi interfacing with 8051
scena
Tue May 19 2020, 10:29 PM
Does anyone have microcontroller programming software for STC15F104W (core 8051, 4 k, 128 byte, 6 I/O pin, UART ... DIL8), that works?
Sat May 02 2020, 07:38 PM
Tamu Gurung
Hi I am looking for a assembly language program for a digital decimal counter. Time counts max limit of 2 mins starting from 2.00 mins and ending at 0.00. time is to be displayed on 4 7-segment LED displays. Edsim51 simulator to be used. Thanks
Wed Mar 25 2020, 01:39 PM
Tajammul
Sir kindly send the code file i2c for 8051
ExperimenterUK
Fri Mar 13 2020, 10:36 PM
@ Rohitnani,ABEBE..which project ?
Fri Mar 13 2020, 12:55 PM
ABEBE
how can get hadwere of this project
Rohitnani
Sat Mar 07 2020, 05:11 PM
Sir, Could you please send me the zip file input password....
Wed Feb 26 2020, 04:58 PM
Peter Parker
Is it possible to send multiple messages using only 1 GSM module?
Sat Feb 01 2020, 10:12 AM
Pearl Olin
Hello,

Downloads

Comments

Mirza123
Thu Jun 25 2020, 03:46 PM
eunicelove124
Mon Jun 22 2020, 03:03 PM
cerouno
Tue Jun 16 2020, 05:10 PM
Marce
Sat Jun 13 2020, 09:43 PM
Davidthils
Thu May 21 2020, 12:44 PM
Jakeror
Thu May 21 2020, 01:28 AM
motorCar
Wed May 20 2020, 07:05 PM
Vordrync
Wed May 20 2020, 11:52 AM

Online

Guests: 86, Members: 0 ...

most ever online: 182184
(Members: , Guests: 182184) on 06 Aug 2010: 05:37 AM

Members: 38215
Newest member: Mirza123